O Emperor win Ireland's Choice Music Prize

Irish alternative art rock band ‘O Emperor’ recently triumphed at the RTE Choice Music Prize ceremony, when they scooped one of the event’s main accolades for ‘Album Of The Year’.

The band – which features BIMM Dublin tutor Phil Christie on vocals, guitar and songwriting duties (right) – were up against a veritable who’s-who of Irish talent in competition for the award.

Other nominees in the category included Mercury Prize nominees, Villagers – featuring BIMM Dublin bass guitar tutor Danny Snow and Meteor-Choice Award winners Delorentos – featuring fellow BIMM Dublin tutors Ro’ Yourell and Kieran McGuinness for their album ‘True Surrender’.

BIMM graduate Theodora Byrne performed with Delorentos on the night.  Also nominated were The Academic for Tales From The Backstreet, who’s members include former BIMM student Craig Fitzgerald.

The award was presented to Phil and his O Emperor band-mates for their self-released 2018 album ‘Jason’ after a judging panel consisting of Irish music media professionals selected it for its creative brilliance. Listen to the LP here:

“We are all delighted with the result.” said Phil. “More than any other project we’ve worked on, we had a lot of fun in making this record – the process was very playful and felt quite unselfconscious as recording projects go, so it’s really nice to think that all of that translated into a piece of work that people can appreciate and dig on.”

O Emperor received a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).

BIMM Dublin’s association with the awards ceremony didn’t stop with Phil, Danny, Ro, Kieran and Theo either. Recent graduate band ‘Fontaines DC’ and current student ‘Laoise’ both received nominations for ‘Song Of The Year’ for their tracks ‘Too Real’ and ‘Again’ respectively alongside the likes of Hozier and ex-One Direction member Niall Horan; the nomination attesting to the incredibly high-level standards to which BIMM artists aspire.

Also nominated for ‘Song of the Year’ were Mango X Mathman featuring Day_S (BIMM graduate David Costello) for ‘Lord Hear Us’ and Saint Sister’s ‘Causing Trouble’(Kormac Remix featuring former BIMM student and CPD graduate Jafaris), as well as Pillow Queens’ ‘Gay Girls’ managed by BIMM business tutor James Byrne.

You can hear the nominated songs here

Chairman of the judging panel Tony Clayton-Lea gave an overview of this year’s award ceremony, saying: “Once again 2018 was a terrific year for the quality of Irish albums released, and the judging process reflected this. Of all the years that I have been chairman of the judging panel, this year was the closest in terms of winner and runner up, with Kojaque’s album ‘Deli Daydreams’ pipped at the post by O Emperor.”

BIMM students were able to hear about the making of great albums at a special Choice Award Nominees masterclass at BIMM Dublin with Phil from O Emperor, Kojaque, and Saoirse and Caoimhe from Wyvern Lingo, moderated by Choice Judge chairman Tony Clayton Lea and also featuring Choice Award co-founder David Reid.

RTÉ2 will broadcast a one-hour TV highlights programme of this year’s Choice Music Prize featuring performances from this year’s shortlisted acts and band interviews on Sunday, March 17th, at 11.15pm.

If you’re interested in studying Songwriting at BIMM Dublin and receiving expert tuition from award-winning music industry professionals like Phil Christie, you can Apply Here. Alternatively, why not come along to one of our upcoming Open Days? 

POSTED ON: March 15, 2019
  • Dublin, Songwriting