Tom Odell Announces New Album and Tour

Alumni Success

He’s won the BRITs Critics’ Choice Award, and an Ivor Novello for songwriting, and now BIMM alumnus Tom Odell is gearing up for the release of his second studio album.

‘Wrong Crowd’ is due out on 10th June 2016 via Columbia Records, and comes three years after the singer-songwriter’s critically acclaimed debut album ‘Long Way Down’.

Production on the record began last year with producer Jim Abbis, who has previously worked with a string of big-name artists, including Adele, Arctic Monkeys and Kasabian.

Speaking about the album, Tom, a former student at BIMM Brighton, said:

“I wanted the songs to sound big and dramatic; big strings and melodies emphasizing the songs further – rich in musicality and holding nothing back. The album follows a narrative of a man held at ransom by his childhood, yearning for it, yearning for nature- a desire for innocence in this perverse world in which he now lives. It’s a fictional story, but the emotions and feelings are obviously ones I have felt – though the stories are elaborated and exaggerated. I wanted to create a world with a heightened sense of reality.”

‘Wrong Crowd’ is the first music video to be released from the record. Director George Belfied (Kwabs, Paloma Faith) shot the promo for the dance-influenced track in South Africa.

The video teases another unreleased song from the album – ‘Constellations’ – before the cameras cut to a busy house party scene.

Following the announcement, the 25-year-old also revealed a string of intimate UK, European and US tour dates, including shows at London’s Islington Assembly Hall (20th April) and the Frannz Club in Berlin (25th April).

Since leaving BIMM in 2010, Tom has established himself as an immense talent. He’s achieved some truly incredible feats and judging by this latest release; it won’t be long before he is back at the top of the charts.

We wish him the best of luck.

Check out the full album track listing, below:

1. Wrong Crowd

2. Magnetised

3. Concrete

4. Constellations

5. Sparrow

6. Still Getting Used to Being On My Own

7. Silhouette

8. Jealousy

9. Daddy

10. Here I Am

11. Somehow

Brighton CoursesOpen Day

POSTED ON: April 6, 2016
  • Brighton, Songwriting